Board Members

The REAL Journey Academies (RJA) Board of Directors consists of five (5) board members and features a diverse group of professionals with expertise in secondary and higher education, international relations, and public administration/finance. Many of the members have served on the board for over six years and are long-time residents of San Bernardino County. Below are brief biographies for each board member.


Diana Z. Rodriguez – President

(3 Year Term beginning 7/1/2018)

Ms. Rodriguez has served in numerous leadership and teaching positions in higher education over the past 28 years. She is currently President of San Bernardino Valley College. Previously, she served as Vice President of Student Services for Las Positas College and Assistant Superintendent for Palo Verde College. Ms. Rodriguez received a BA in Marketing from California State University, San Bernardino, an MBA in Marketing from California State University, San Bernardino, and an MA in Education/Counseling from California State University, San Bernardino.

Javier Hernandez – Vice President

(3 Year Term beginning 7/1/2019)

Mr. Hernandez has been an educator, administrator, and college outreach specialist for the past 36 years. He has held such academic positions as Director for Immediate Outreach for the University of California, Riverside, and Early Academic Outreach Coordinator for the University of California, San Diego. Mr. Hernandez has presented on topics of college readiness, minority student outreach, and student intervention/remediation at numerous conferences and workshops throughout his career including the Hispanic Association of Colleges and Universities and the UC Board of Regents. He has a BA in Sociology from the University of California, Riverside, and an MA in Educational Counseling from the University of San Diego.

Jack D. Ruebensaal – Secretary

(3 Year Term beginning 7/1/2018)

Mr. Rubensaal has served as a university professor and expert in international relations over the past 41 years. He is currently a Professor of Political Science and Asian American Studies and serves as Vice Chair of the Behavioral and Social Sciences Division for West Los Angeles College (part of the Los Angeles Community College District). Mr. Rubensaal has held leadership positions in many academic organizations, including the California State Academic Senate for California Community Colleges (1997–2002), Chapter President for the American Federation of Teachers (2000–2004), and Board of Directors for the California Center for Public Policy (1987–1992). He has a BA in Political Science from Loyola Marymount University, an MA in Political Science/Asian Studies from the Monterey Institute of International Studies, and an M.Phil in Politics/International Relations from the London School of Economics.

Dr. Audrey L. Mathews – Treasurer

(2 Year Term beginning 7/1/2018)

Dr. Mathews has been a university professor in business and public administration for the past 29 years. Most recently, she was Professor Emeriti in Business Administration and Public Administration at California State University, San Bernardino. She has served as contributor and editor for numerous publications and books on public administration, among them, The Sum of the Differences: Diversity and Public Organization (1998) and the International Encyclopedia of Public Policy and Administration (1997). Dr. Mathews has held several appointed positions in government including Planning Commissioner to the County of San Bernardino (2004–2021) and Legislative Committee Chair for the County of San Bernardino Workforce Investment Board (2009–2016). Her professional honors include Presidential Merit Award for Service to the Profession from the American Society of Public Administration (2000, 2006), and National Pioneer/Trailblazer Award from the National Conference of Minority Public Administrators (1998). She received a BS in Business Administration from West Coast University, an MPA in Public Administration from the California State University, Northridge, and a Doctorate in Public Administration from the University of Southern California.